Heading into 2022, the State Champions of High School Football

The defending high school football champions from each of the 50 states are showcased by High School Football America.

Alcoa High School in Tennessee has the longest current American state championship streak going into 2022. In 2021, the Tornadoes finished the season ranked No. 1 and won their seventh state championship in a row. Powered by NFL Play Football, ranked 69 in the 2021 High School Football America 100 rankings.

The untouched record is 14 continuous secondary school state titles. These state championships were won by St. Louis in Hawaii from 1986 to 1999.

Although those titles were awarded by a media poll or another source, Sioux Falls Washington High School is also credited with winning 14 straight South Dakota state championships between 1951 and 1964.

With less than 450 students, Riverheads High School (VA) has won six Virginia 1A titles in a row heading into 2022. The nation’s longest current winning streak belongs to the Gladiators, who have won 50 games in a row.

Southern Columbia (PA) has won the state 2A championship five times in a row. From 2002 to 2006, they also accomplished that feat.

The previous season, T.F. Riggs also won the high school football state championship for the fifth time in a row.

Bryant High School in Arkansas is the only 7A team in Arkansas to have won four straight titles going into the upcoming season.

In addition, the Bixby Spartans (OK) have won four state championships in a row and are currently enjoying the nation’s second-longest winning streak of 49 games.

The national three-peat is being defended by thirteen teams:

Anadale (Kansas), Buford (Georgia), Catholic Central (Grand Rapids, Michigan), Cherry Creek (Colorado), Harding Academy (Arkansas), McCallie (Tennessee), Miami Central (Florida), Mill Valley (Kansas), Pulaski Academy (Arkansas), St. Thomas Aquinas (Florida), Thompson (Alabama), Westlake (Austin, Texas), and Sold

With their defeat to Gaffney in the previous season, Dutch Fork also ended their run of five consecutive South Carolina 5A titles. In addition, Saguaro defeated Chandler in the Open Division championship game to end Chandler’s five-year championship streak in Arizona.

The complete list of 2021 high school state champions can be found below.
New Jersey will begin playing for true state champions in 2022. The North and South Group champions, in addition to two individual champions, were announced by the New Jersey State Interscholastic Athletic Association during the 2021 season.

New Jersey State Interscholastic Athletic Association Non-Public A – Bergen Catholic Non-Public B – Red Bank Catholic North Group V – East Orange Campus South Group V – Hillsborough North Group IV – Irvington South Group IV – Millville North Group III – West Morris Central South Group III – Cedar Creek North Group II – Caldwell South Group II – Haddonfield North Group I – Cedar Grove South Group I – Salem New Mexico New Mexico Activities Association 6A – Cleveland

Catholic State Champ – Iona Prep North Carolina North Carolina High School Athletic Association 4A – Cardinal Gibbons 3A – Dudley 2A – Shelby 1A – Tarboro North Carolina Independent Schools Athletic Association Division I – Providence Day Division II – Cabarrus 8 Man I – Cary Christian 8 Man II – Wayne Christian North Dakota North Dakota High School Activities Association AA – Sheyenne A – Jamestown B – Kindred 9 Man – LaMoure/L

Leave a Comment